MBD Marketing & Events has been proud to be supporting the No DUI Larimer initiative. Part of our marketing campaign includes education. At No DUI Larimer, we talk a lot about the safety implications of impaired driving. But there are legal implications as well.
Deciding to Make the Call instead of driving impaired can save not just your life, but also time, money, and your license.
Read on for an overview of Colorado’s DUI/DWAI laws and penalties.
Colorado DUI/DWAI Laws
DUI/DWAI in Colorado
In Colorado, you are considered to be Driving Under the Influence (DUI) with a blood or breath alcohol content of 0.08% or higher. You can still be charged with a DUI if your test result comes back below 0.08%. You will be charged with a DUI if you refuse to submit to a chemical test while showing signs of intoxication or of being under the influence of drugs, including marijuana.
Although Colorado uses Driving While Ability Impaired (DWAI) language during sentencing, there is no difference in the statute (law) itself. DUI laws in Colorado cover impairment due to alcohol, drugs, or any combination of the two.
First Offense DUI
Second Offense DUI
Third Offense DUI
Fourth Offense DUI
Persistent Drunk Driver/Aggravated DUI
First Offense DWAI
Second Offense DWAI
Third Offense DWAI
Fourth Offense DWAI
How many points will cost you your license?
Adult Drivers (21 and older)
Minor Drivers 18-20 Years Old
Minor Drivers Under 18
Colorado’s Chargeable BAC Level
In Colorado, the “legal limit” for drinking and driving is a BAC of 0.08%. It is important to note, however, that alcohol affects people differently, and a BAC of 0.05% may be enough to cause impairment. Therefore, if you show signs of driving under the influence and/or cause an accident, and your BAC is 0.05% or higher, it is a permissible inference that you drove under the influence of alcohol, and you can be charged.
Providing Alcohol to a Minor
In Colorado, people who “sell, serve, give away, dispose of, exchange, or deliver or permit the sale, serving, giving, or procuring of any alcohol beverage to or for any person under the age of twenty-one years” can be charged with a Class 2 misdemeanor. This conviction can include a prison sentence in a county jail of at least three months and up to one year. Fines range from $250 to $1,000.
Avoid penalties and save your life – or another’s – by always Making the Call. Follow No DUI Larimer on Facebook for tips and updates from us and our partners.
Comments are closed.
Search our blog
Making Business Personal. We pride ourselves on giving you something to look forward to. We are a connected collective of creatives - owned an operated by outstanding women.
Never miss an event or opportunity. Sign up for our newsletter!
*All content produced by My Big Day; DBA Big Deal Company, including websites, are the property of My Big Day LLC and protected by U.S. and international copyright laws. You may not copy, reproduce, distribute, transmit, modify, create derivative works, or in any other way exploit any part of our materials without the prior written permission from My Big Day LLC.